August 29, 2018

The everyday governance of the American Society of Comparative Law (ASCL) operates through democratically elected committees. To learn more about a committee, please contact its respective lead officer or chairperson.

Executive Committee

Richard Kay (President)

Maximo Langer (Vice-President)

Mortimer Sellers (Treasurer)

Frank Gevurtz (Secretary)

Christopher Henkel (2019)

Sudha Setty (2019)

Gary Bell (2020)

Virginia Harper Ho (2020)

Sally Richardson (Parliamentarian)

Boris Mamlyuk (Information Officer)

Joshua Karton (YCC)


The standing committees below are listed in alphabetical order.


AJCL Joint Audit Committee

Helge Dedek

Ron Scalise

Mortimer Sellers

Franz Werro


Annual Program Committee

Afra Asharipour

Padideh Ala’i

Hannah Buxbaum

Maximo Langer (chair)

Fernanda Nicola

Julia Qin


Finance Committee

Afra Asharipour

Richard Kay (ex officio)

Ron Krotoszynski

Ron Scalise (chair)

Peter Schroth

Mortimer Sellers (ex officio)


Investment Committee

Rachel Anderson

Afra Asharipour (chair)

Martin Gelter

Virginia Harper Ho


Nominating Committee

Richard Albert

David Clark (chair)

Alison Conner

James Nafziger

Timothy Webster


Plurilinguism Committee

Vivian Curran (chair)

Jorge Esquirol

Stacie Strong

Ioanna Tourkochoriti

Marketa Trimble


Prizes Committee

Jorge Esquirol

Julia Qin

John Reitz (chair)

Ron Scalise


Younger Comparatists Committee

Antonia Barragia

Josh Karton (chair)

Kish Parella

Ioanna Tourkochoriti

Timothy Webster