ASCL Sponsor Members

Minutes -- 2007

Annual Meeting of the Society on November 10, 2007

MINUTES

of the

Annual Meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. Held on Saturday, November 10, 2007, at 8:00 a.m. at the Cornell Law School Ithaca, New York

The annual meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. was called to order by President Symeon Symeonides at 8:00 a.m.

1. President's Announcements

President Symeonides announced that there was no question of meeting a quorum and, because of the length of the agenda, dispensed with the president's report.

2. Secretary's Roll Call

A sheet for silent roll call was distributed. The following 54 Sponsor Members were present at the meeting and were represented by the individuals listed:

- 1. American University, Washington College of Law: Fernanda Nicola, David V. Snyder
- 2. University of Baltimore School of Law: James Maxeiner
- 3. University of California at Berkeley School of Law: Richard M. Buxbaum
- 4. University of California Hastings College of the Law: Ugo Mattei, Chimene Keitner
- 5. University of California at Los Angeles: Maximo Langer
- 6. Chicago-Kent College of Law, IIT: David J. Gerber
- 7. Columbia University School of Law, Parker School: George Bermann
- 8. University of Connecticut School of Law: Richard Kay, Peter L. Lindseth
- 9. Cornell Law School: Mitchel Lasser, Annelise Riles
- 10. University of Denver College of Law: Ved Nanda
- 11. University of Detroit Mercy School of Law: Bret Boyce, Howard B. Abrams
- 12. Duke University School of Law: Ralf Michaels
- 13. Emory University School of Law: Teemu Ruskola, Robert Ahdieh
- 14. Georgetown University Law Center: Charles H. Gustafson, James V. Feinerman
- 15. George Washington University, National Law Center: Susan Karamanian
- 16. University of Hawaii, Richardson School of Law: Alison Conner

- 17. HEC School of Management: Karim Medjad
- 18. University of Houston Law Center: Antonio Gidi
- 19. University of Illinois College of Law: Thomas Ginsburg
- 20. Indiana University at Bloomington Law School: Hannah L. Buxbaum
- 21. University of Iowa College of Law: John Reitz
- 22. Louisiana State University Law Center: AlbertoL. Zuppi, Alain A. Levasseur
- 23. University of Maryland School of Law: Peter Quint
- 24. McGill University, Institute of Comparative Law: Patrick Glenn
- 25. University of Michigan Law School: Mathias Reimann
- 26. University of Missouri Columbia School of Law: William B. Fisch, Ilhyung Lee
- 27. University of Missouri Kansas City School of Law: Jeffrey E. Thomas
- 28. William Mitchell College of Law: Jayanth K. Krishnan
- 29. University of Oklahoma Law Center: Peter B. Krug
- 30. Oklahoma City University School of Law: Carla Spivack, Phyllis Bernard
- 31. University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law: Steven C. McCaffrey
- 32. Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson School of Law: Louis Del Duca
- 33. Pepperdine University School of Law: Jack J. Coe, Jr.
- 34. University of Pittsburgh School of Law: Vivian Grosswald Curran. Elena Bayless
- 35. University of Puerto Rico School of Law: Luis Muniz-Argüelles
- 36. Roger Williams University School of Law: Louise E. Teitz, Edward J. Eberle
- 37. St. Louis University School of Law: Stephen C. Thaman, Henry M. Ordower
- 38. University of San Diego School of Law: Joseph Darby, Herbert Lazerow
- 39. Seton Hall University School of Law: Elizabeth F. Defeis
- 40. National University of Singapore Faculty of Law: Gary F. Bell
- 41. Southwestern University Law School: Mark Cammack, Jonathan Miller
- 42. Stanford Law School: Amalia D. Kessler
- 43. Suffolk University School of Law: Miguel Schor
- 44. Syracuse University College of Law: Hilary K. Josephs
- 45. Temple University Beasley School of Law: Salil Mehra
- 46. Universita di Trento Facolta di Giurisprudenza: Luisa Antoniolli
- 47. Tulane University School of Law: Vernon Palmer
- 48. Valapariso University School of Law: D.A. Jeremy Telman
- 49. Villanova Law School: John F. Murphy
- 50. Washington & Lee University School of Law: Russell Miller
- 51. Wayne State University Law School: Paul R. Dubinsky
- 52. Western New England College School of Law: Peter W. Schroth
- 53. Willamette University College of Law: James Nafziger, Symeon C. Symeonides
- 54. Yale Law School: James Q. Whitman

3. Approval of Minutes of the 2006 Meeting of the Sponsor Members

The minutes from 2006 were approved without corrections.

4. Election of New Sponsor Members, Sustaining Member, and Corresponding Institutional Members

The applications for new membership this year were approved as follows:

Sponsor Members:

University of South Carolina, (Joel H. Samuels, Director)

University of Ottawa, (Aline Grenon, Director)

Princeton Program in Law & Public Affairs, (Kim Lane Scheppele, Director)

Associate Members:

Soon Chul Huh, Korea

Betsy Baker, University of Vermont

5. Resolution to Fix the Number and Names of Directors

A resolution to fix the numbers and names of Directors as they appear on the Society's Web site was made, seconded and approved pursuant to By-Law Section 4.1.

6. New Business

There was no new business.

7. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved, seconded and approved that the Meeting of the Sponsor Members be adjourned at 8:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Blanche Capilos

Executive Assistant

American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.