ASCL Sponsor Members

Minutes -- 2009

Annual Meeting of the Society on October 3, 2009

MINUTES

of the Annual Meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. Held on Saturday, October 3, 2009 at 10:45 a.m. at Roger Williams University School of Law, 10 Metacom Avenue, Bristol, Rhode Island

The annual meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. was called to order by President Symeon Symeonides at 10:45 a.m.

1. President's Announcements

President Symeonides announced that a quorum was present. Because of the length of the agenda, he did not present a president's report.

2. Secretary's Roll Call

A sheet for silent roll call was distributed. The following 52 Sponsor Members were present at the meeting and were represented by the individuals listed below:

- 1. University of Alabama School of Law: Kenneth Rosen, Ron Krotoszynski, Jr.
- 2. American University, Washington College of Law: David V. Snyder
- 3. University of Baltimore School of Law: James Maxeiner, Mortimer Sellers
- 4. Boston College Law School: Richard Albert
- 5. Brooklyn Law School: Robin Effron
- 6. University of California at Davis School of Law: Afra Afsharipour
- 7. University of California Hastings College of the Law: Dorit Reiss
- 8. University of California at Los Angeles: Maximo Langer
- 9. Chicago-Kent College of Law, IIT: David J. Gerber
- 10. Columbia University School of Law, Parker School: George A. Bermann
- 11. University of Connecticut School of Law: Richard S. Kay
- 12. University of Denver College of Law: Ved P. Nanda
- 13. Emory University School of Law: Teemu Ruskola
- 14. Florida International University College of Law: Manuel A. Gomez
- 15. Georgetown University Law Center: David P. Stewart
- 16. Golden Gate University School of Law: Christian N. Okeke
- 17. University of Hawai'i, Richardson School of Law: Alison W. Conner
- 18. Hofstra University School of Law: Nora V. Demleitner
- 19. University of Houston Law Center: Antonio Gidi
- 20. University of Illinois College of Law: Jacqueline E. Ross
- 21. Indiana University at Bloomington Law School: Jayanth K.Krishnan

- 22. Indiana University at Indianapolis Law School: Frank Emmert
- 23. University of Iowa College of Law: John C. Reitz
- 24. University of Kentucky College of Law: Scott Bauries
- 25. Louisiana State University Law Center: Alain A. Levasseur
- 26. Loyola University New Orleans School of Law: Dominique Custos
- 27. McGill University, Institute of Comparative Law: H. Patrick Glenn
- 28. University of Maryland School of Law: Peter E. Quint
- 29. University of Miami School of Law: Keith S. Rosenn
- 30. University of Michigan Law School: Mathias W. Reimann
- 31. University of Minnesota Law School: Fred L. Morrison
- 32. University of Missouri Columbia School of Law: William B. Fisch, Ilhyung Lee
- 33. University of Missouri Kansas City School of Law: Jeffrey E. Thomas, Colin B. Picker
- 34. New York Law School: Lung-Chu Chen
- 35. University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law: Franklin Gevurtz
- 36. Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson School of Law: Louis Del Duca
- 37. University of Pittsburgh School of Law: Vivian Grosswald Curran
- 38. University of Puerto Rico School of Law: Luis Muniz-Argüelles
- 39. Roger Williams University School of Law: Edward J. Eberle, Louise E. Teitz
- 40. Rutgers, State University of New Jersey School of Law, Camden: Richard Hyland
- 41. St. Louis University School of Law: Stephen C. Thaman
- 42. University of San Diego School of Law: Herbert Lazerow
- 43. Seton Hall University School of Law: Tracey A. Kaye
- 44. National University of Singapore Faculty of Law: Gary F. Bell
- 45. Southwestern University Law School: Silvia F. Faerman
- 46. Stanford University School of Law: Amalia D. Kessler
- 47. Swiss Institute of Comparative Law: Eleanor Cashin-Ritaine, Lukas Heckendorn Urscheler
- 48. Universita di Trento Facolta di Giurisprudenza: Luisa Antoniolli
- 49. University of Tulsa College of Law: Barbara Bucholtz
- 50. Wayne State University Law School: Julia Ya Qin, Paul R. Dubinsky
- 51. Western New England College School of Law: Peter W. Schroth
- 52. Willamette University College of Law: Symeon C. Symeonides, David S. Clark

3. Approval of Minutes of the 2008 Meeting of the Sponsor Members

The minutes from 2008 were approved without corrections.

4. Election of New Sponsor Members and Corresponding Institutional Members

Two applications for sponsor membership were approved: (1) University of Arkansas at Little Rock Bowen School of Law (Kenneth S. Gallant, Editor and Sarah H. Jenkins, Editor); and (2) Mississippi College School of Law (Wulf Kaal, Director and Christoph Henkel, Editor).

An application from the University of Sao Paulo Faculty of Law (Gisele Araujo) to become a Corresponding Institutional Member of the Society was also approved.

5. Resolution to Fix the Number and Names of Directors

A resolution to fix the numbers and names of Directors as they appear on the Society's website was made, seconded and approved pursuant to By-Law Section 4.1.

6. New Business

There was no new business.

7. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved, seconded and approved that the Meeting of the Sponsor Members be adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Alison W. Conner, Secretrary American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.