# **ASCL** Sponsor Members

# **Minutes -- 2010**

Annual Meeting of the Society on July 27, 2010

**MINUTES** 

of the Annual Meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. Held on Tuesday, July 27, 2010 at 7:30 p.m. at George Washington University, National Law Center, 2000 H Street, N.W., Washington, DC

The annual meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. was called to order by President Symeon C. Symeonides at 7:30 p.m. The meeting took place during the XVIIIth International Congress of Comparative Law, which was held from July 25 to August 1, 2010 and was jointly presented by the International Academy of Comparative Law and the Society.

## 1. Secretary's Roll Call

A sheet for silent roll call was distributed. The following 57 Sponsor Members were present at the meeting and were represented by the individuals listed below:

- 1. University of Alabama School of Law: Kenneth Rosen
- 2. American University, Washington College of Law: Fernanda Nicola, David V. Snyder
- 3. University of Arizona College of Law: Boris Kozolchyk, Ann Maria Merico-Stephens
- 4. University of Arkansas at Little Rock Bowen School of Law: Kenneth S. Gallant
- 5. University of Baltimore School of Law: James Maxeiner, Mortimer Sellers
- 6. Brigham Young University, J. Reuben Clark Law School: Stephen G. Wood, W. Cole Durham, Jr.
- 7. Brooklyn Law School: Arthur Pinto
- 8. University of California at Berkeley School of Law: Richard M. Buxbaum
- 9. University of California at Davis School of Law: Afra Afsharipour
- 10. Chicago-Kent College of Law, IIT: David J. Gerber
- 11. University of Colorado School of Law: William T. Pizzi
- 12. Columbia University School of Law, Parker School: George A. Bermann
- 13. University of Connecticut School of Law: Richard S. Kay
- 14. University of Denver College of Law: Ved P. Nanda
- 15. University of Detroit Mercy College of Law: Howard B. Abrams, Brett Boyce
- 16. Duke University School of Law: Ralf Michaels
- 17. Emory University School of Law: Teemu Ruskola
- 18. Florida International University College of Law: Manuel A. Gomez
- 19. George Washington University, National Law Center: Susan L. Karamanian
- 20. Georgetown University Law Center: James V. Feinerman, Franz Werro
- 21. University of Hawai'i, Richardson School of Law: Alison W. Conner
- 22. University of Illinois College of Law: Margaret Grossman

- 23. Indiana University at Bloomington Law School: Hannah L. Buxbaum
- 24. University of Iowa College of Law: John C. Reitz, Adrienne Wing
- 25. Louisiana State University Law Center: Alain A. Levasseur
- 26. Loyola University New Orleans School of Law: Dominique Custos
- 27. McGill University, Institute of Comparative Law: H. Patrick Glenn
- 28. Marquette University Law School: J. Gordon Hylton
- 29. University of Maryland School of Law: Peter E. Quint, Shruti Rana
- 30. University of Michigan Law School: Mathias W. Reimann
- 31. University of Minnesota Law School: Fred L. Morrison
- 32. Mississippi College of Law: Wulf Kaal, Christoph Henkel
- 33. New York Law School: Lung-Chu Chen, Ruti G. Teitel
- 34. Oklahoma University School of Law: Carla Spivack
- 35. University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law: Franklin Gevurtz
- 36. University of Pennsylvania Law School: William B. Ewald
- 37. Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson School of Law: Louis F. Del Duca
- 38. Pepperdine University School of Law: Donald Childress, Jack J. Coe, Jr.
- 39. University of Pittsburgh School of Law: Vivian Grosswald Curran, Haider Hamoudi
- 40. Princeton University Program on Law & Public Affairs: Kim Lane Scheppele
- 41. University of Puerto Rico School of Law: Luis Muniz-Argüelles
- 42. Roger Williams University School of Law: Edward J. Eberle
- 43. St. Louis University School of Law: Stephen C. Thaman, Henry M. Ordower
- 44. University of San Diego School of Law: Joseph J. Darby, Laurence P. Claus
- 45. Seton Hall University School of Law: Tracey A. Kaye
- 46. National University of Singapore Faculty of Law: Gary F. Bell
- 47. University of South Carolina: Joel Samuels
- 48. Southwestern University Law School: Mark E. Cammack
- 49. Stanford University School of Law: Amalia D. Kessler
- 50. Swiss Institute of Comparative Law: Lukas Heckendorn Urscheler
- 51. Universita di Trento Facolta di Giurisprudenza: Luisa Antoniolli
- 52. Tulane University School of Law: Ronald J. Scalise
- 53. University of Tulsa College of Law: Barbara Bucholtz
- 54. Villanova University School of Law: Chaim Saiman
- 55. Wayne State University Law School: Paul R. Dubinsky
- 56. Western New England College School of Law: Peter W. Schroth
- 57. Willamette University College of Law: Symeon C. Symeonides, James A. R. Nafziger, David S. Clark

#### 2. President's Report

President Symeonides announced that a quorum was present. The president noted that the American Society of Comparative Law had the honor of hosting the International Congress of Comparative Law for the first time in its history. The Society was able to do this because of the three host schools, George Washington University, American University, and Georgetown University—and the tremendous work of the individual committee members from those three law schools.

President Symeonides then expressed the Society's gratitude to the three law schools and to their representatives, who have served on the XVIIIth Congress Steering Committee and have worked for more than two years on the program: David V. Snyder of American (chair); Susan L. Karamanian of George Washington (vice-chair); James V. Feinerman and Franz Werro of Georgetown; Fernanda G. Nicola and Jennifer Dabson of American; Karen B. Brown of George Washington; and Mathias Reimann of the University of Michigan. George Bermann, the current president of the International Congress of Comparative Law, also paid special tribute to our colleagues for the excellent job they had done on organizing the conference.

On a more personal note, President Symeonides also recalled that after sixteen years of serving as an officer of the Society, first as secretary, then as vice-president and for the last four years as president, this was his last year in office. He expressed his deep thanks to the Society and its members for all the support he has received during those years.

# 3. Approval of Minutes of the 2009 Meeting of the Sponsor Members

The minutes from 2009 were approved without corrections.

# 4. Election of New Sponsor Members, Corresponding Institutional Members and Associate Members

Three applications for sponsor membership were approved:

- (1) Boston University (Anna di Robilant as director, Daniela Caruso as editor).
- (2) University of Florida (Pedro Malavet as director and Berta Hernandez as editor);
- (3) Whittier Law School (Seval Yildrim as director and David Welkowitz as editor);

Seven applications for associate membership were also approved: Lei Chen (City University of Hong Kong), David Defarrari (formerly of the UN), Arthur Gemmell (Santa Clara University), Gyooho Lee (Chung-Ang University), Luca Melchionna (St. John's University), Brian Ray (Cleveland-Marshall College of Law), and Eleanor Ritaine (formerly of the Swiss Institute of Comparative Law).

### 5. Resolution to Fix the Number and Names of Directors

A resolution to fix the numbers and names of Directors as they appear on the Society's website (and as approved for the new sponsor members, now totalling 105) was made, seconded and approved pursuant to By-Law Section 4.1.

#### 6. New Business

There was no new business.

### 7. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved, seconded and approved that the Meeting of the Sponsor Members be adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Alison W. Conner, Secretary American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.