# **ASCL**

### **Sponsor Members Minutes - 2011**

Annual Meeting of the Society on October 21, 2011

MINUTES of the Annual Meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. Held on Friday, October 21, 2011 at 4:45 p.m. at McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific, 3200 Fifth Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95817

The annual meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. was called to order by President John C. Reitz at 4:45 p.m.

### 1. Secretary's Roll Call

A sheet for silent roll call was distributed. The following 47 Sponsor Members were present at the meeting and were represented by the individuals listed below:

- 1. University of Alabama School of Law: Kenneth M. Rosen
- 2. American University, Washington College of Law: Padideh Ala`i
- 3. University of Arkansas at Little Rock Bowen School of Law: Kenneth S. Gallant
- 4. University of Baltimore School of Law: James Maxeiner, Mortimer Sellers
- 5. Boston College Law School: Richard Albert
- 6. University of California at Berkeley School of Law: Richard M. Buxbaum
- 7. University of California at Davis School of Law: Afra Afsharipour
- 8. Chicago-Kent College of Law, IIT: David J. Gerber
- 9. Cleveland-Marshall College of Law: Brian Ray
- 10. University of Connecticut School of Law: Richard S. Kay
- 11. Duke University School of Law: Donald L. Horowitz, Ralf Michaels
- 12. Emory University School of Law: Johan van der Vyver
- 13. University of Florida College of Law: Pedro Malavet
- 14. George Washington University, National Law Center: Francesca Bignami
- 15. Georgetown University Law Center: Charles H. Gustafson
- 16. Harvard Law School: Ioanna Tourkochoriti
- 17. University of Hawai`i, Richardson School of Law: Alison W. Conner
- 18. Indiana University at Bloomington Law School: Hannah L. Buxbaum
- 19. University of Iowa College of Law: John C. Reitz, Adrien Wing
- 20. Louisiana State University Law Center: Alain A. Levasseur
- 21. Loyola University New Orleans School of Law: Dominique Custos, Bernard Keith Vetter
- 22. McGill University, Institute of Comparative Law: H. Patrick Glenn
- 23. University of Maryland School of Law: Peter E. Quint, Shruti Rana

- 24. University of Miami School of Law: Markus Wagner
- 25. University of Michigan Law School: Mathias W. Reimann
- 26. University of Minnesota Law School: Fred L. Morrison
- 27. Mississippi College of Law: David Hamm
- 28. University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law: William B. Fisch
- 29. University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law: Timothy Lynch
- 30. University of Nevada-Las Vegas School of Law: Christopher L. Blakely
- 31. University of Oklahoma Law Center: Peter B. Kutner
- 32. University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law: Franklin Gevurtz, Stephen C. McCaffrey
- 33. Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson School of Law: Louis F. Del Duca
- 34. Pepperdine University School of Law: Donald Childress
- 35. University of Pittsburgh School of Law: Vivian Grosswald Curran
- 36. Roger Williams University School of Law: Edward J. Eberle
- 37. St. Louis University School of Law: Richard C. Ameling
- 38. University of San Diego School of Law: Laurence P. Claus, Bert Lazerow
- 39. National University of Singapore Faculty of Law: Gary F. Bell
- 40. Southern Methodist School of Law: Peter Winship
- 41. Southwestern University Law School: Mark E. Cammack
- 42. Universita di Trento Facolta di Giurisprudenza: Luisa Antoniolli
- 43. Tulane University School of Law: Ronald J. Scalise
- 44. University of Washington School of Law: Sylvia Kang`ara
- 45. Western New England School of Law: Peter W. Schroth
- 46. Willamette University College of Law: Symeon C. Symeonides, David S. Clark
- 47. William Mitchell College of Law: Kenneth L. Port

### 2. President's Report

President Reitz announced that a quorum was present. No formal report was given.

# **3. Approval of Minutes of the 2010 Meeting of the Sponsor Members** The minutes from 2010 were approved without corrections.

## 4. Election of New Sponsor Members, Corresponding Institutional Members and Associate Members

Two applications for sponsor membership were approved:

- (1) Cleveland-Marshall College of Law (Brian Ray as director and editor).
- (2) University of St. Thomas School of Law (Wulf Kaal as director and editor).

Six applications for associate membership were also approved: Alfredo Attié, Jr. (Supreme Court of Sao Paulo; Paul Barresi (University of Southern New Hampshire); Gianluca Gentili (University of Siena); Gary Gold (University of Sharjah); John Smibert (U.S. Department of Justice, Kosovo); Ioanna Tourkochoriti Harvard Social Studies).

#### 5. Resolution to Fix the Number and Names of Directors

A resolution to fix the numbers and names of Directors as they appear on the Society's website (and as approved for the new sponsor members, now totaling 104) was made, seconded and approved pursuant to By-Law Section 4.1.

#### 6. New Business

There was no new business.

#### 7. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved, seconded and approved that the Meeting of the Sponsor Members be adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Alison W. Conner, Secretary American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.