ASCL Sponsor Members

Minutes -- 2012

Annual Meeting of the Society on October 6, 2012

MINUTES

of the Annual Meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.

Held on Saturday, October 6, 2011 at 8:30 a.m. in Room 235, Boyd Law Building at the University of Iowa College of Law, Iowa City, IA 52246-1113

The annual meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. was called to order by President John C. Reitz at 8:30 a.m.

1. Secretary's Roll Call

A sheet for silent roll call was distributed. The following 44 Sponsor Members were present at the meeting and were represented by the individuals listed below:

- 1. University of Alabama School of Law: Kenneth M. Rosen
- 2. American University, Washington College of Law: Fernanda Nicola
- 3. University of Arkansas at Little Rock Bowen School of Law: Kenneth S. Gallant, Sarah H. Jenkins-Hobbs
- 4. University of Baltimore School of Law: James Maxeiner, Mortimer Sellers
- 5. Boston College Law School: Richard Albert
- 6. University of California at Los Angeles: Stephen A. Gardbaum
- 7. Chicago-Kent College of Law, IIT: David J. Gerber
- 8. Cleveland-Marshall College of Law: Brian Ray
- 9. Columbia University School of Law, Parker School: George A. Bermann
- 10. University of Connecticut School of Law: Richard S. Kay
- 11. University of Denver College of Law: Ved Nanda
- 12. University of Detroit-Mercy College of Law: Bret Boyce
- 13. Duke University School of Law: Ralf Michaels
- 14. Emory University School of Law: Robert B. Ahdieh
- 15. University of Florida College of Law: Pedro Malavet
- 16. George Washington University, National Law Center: Francesca Bignami
- 17. University of Hawai'i, Richardson School of Law: Alison W. Conner
- 18. University of Houston Law Center: Antonio Gidi
- 19. Indiana University at Indianapolis School of Law: Shawn Boyne
- 20. University of Iowa College of Law: John C. Reitz, Adrien Wing
- 21. Loyola University New Orleans School of Law: Dominique Custos, Bernard Keith Vetter
- 22. McGill University, Institute of Comparative Law: H. Patrick Glenn
- 23. University of Michigan Law School: Mathias W. Reimann
- 24. University of Minnesota Law School: Fred L. Morrison
- 25. Mississippi College of Law: Christoph Henkel

- 26. University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law: William B. Fisch
- 27. New York University School of Law: Frank K. Upham
- 28. University of Oklahoma Law Center: Peter B. Kutner
- 29. University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law: Franklin Gevurtz
- 30. University of Pittsburgh School of Law: Vivian Grosswald Curran
- 31. Princeton University Program on Law & Public Affairs: Kim Lane Scheppele
- 32. University of Puerto Rico: Luis Muniz-Arguelles
- 33. Roger Williams University School of Law: Edward J. Eberle
- 34. University of St. Thomas School of Law: Wulf Kaal
- 35. Seton Hall University School of Law: Elizabeth F. Defeis
- 36. National University of Singapore Faculty of Law: Gary F. Bell
- 37. Southwestern University Law School: Jonathan M. Miller
- 38. Universita di Trento Facolta di Giurisprudenza: Luisa Antoniolli
- 39. Tulane University School of Law: Ronald J. Scalise
- 40. Valparaiso University School of Law: Zachary R. Calo, Righard T. Stith III
- 41. Washington & Lee University School of Law: Christopher Bruner
- 42. Western New England College School of Law: Sudha Setty, Peter W. Schroth
- 43. Willamette University College of Law: James A.R. Nafziger, David S. Clark
- 44. University of Wisconsin Law School, East Asian Legal Studies Center: Alexandra Huneeus

2. President's Report

President Reitz announced that a quorum was present. No formal report was given.

3. Approval of Minutes of the 2011 Meeting of the Sponsor Members

The minutes from 2011 were approved without corrections.

4. Election of New Sponsor Members, Corresponding Institutional Members and Associate Members

Four applications for sponsor membership were approved:

- (1) University of Arkansas-Fayetteville School of Law Robert B. Leflar (Director) and Stephen M. Sheppard (Editor)
- (2) Drake University Law School Mark S. Kende (Director) and Miguel Schor (Editor)
- (3) St. John's University School of Law Jeffrey K. Walker (Director), Michael Granne (Editor)
- (4) Zhejiang University School of Law, Hangzhou, People's Republic of China Jin Chengdong (Director and Editor)

Six applications for associate membership were also approved:

Antoni Abat Ninet (ESADE Law and Business School, Universitat Ramon Llull, Barcelona); Antonia Baraggia (University of Milan & Fordham Law School); Thomas Lundmark (University of Muenster); Cristina Mariottini (Max Planck Institute); Hernan Perez Loose (Coronel & Perez Abogados in Ecuador); and Renzo E. Saavedra Velazco, (Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru in Lima).

5. Resolution to Fix the Number and Names of Directors

A resolution to fix the numbers and names of Directors as they appear on the Society's website (and as approved for the new Sponsor Members, now totaling 107) was made, seconded and approved pursuant to By-Law Section 4.1.

6. New Business

There was no new business.

7. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved, seconded and approved that the Meeting of the Sponsor Members be adjourned at 8:45 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Alison W. Conner, Secretary American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.