## **ASCL** Meeting of the Sponsor Members

**Minutes -- 2024** 

Annual Meeting of the Society on October 19, 2024

American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.
Saturday, October 19, 2024
10:30am-12:30pm
Amon Carter Lecture Hall
Texas A&M University School of Law

# MINUTES OF THE 2024 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SPONSOR MEMBERS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF COMPARATIVE LAW, INC.

Held on Saturday, October 19, 2024, at 10:30 am Central Daylight Time, Texas A&M University School of Law

The annual meeting of the Sponsor Members of the American Society of Comparative Law, Inc., was called to order by Secretary Virginia Harper Ho at 10:34 a.m. Central Daylight Time.

#### 1. Secretary's Roll Call

A silent roll call was undertaken by written signatures of individuals attending in person. The following 41 Sponsor Members were present at the meeting and were represented (in person or by proxy) by the individuals listed below:

- 1. Alabama University School of Law: Clare Ryan
- 2. American University Washington College of Law: Fernanda Nicola
- 3. University of Baltimore School of Law: Mortimer Sellers, Ioanna Tourkochoriti
- 4. University of California, Davis School of Law: Raquel Aldana, Irene Joe
- 5. University of California, Los Angeles School of Law: Máximo Langer
- 6. Columbia University School of Law; Benjamin Liebman
- 7. University of Connecticut School of Law: Richard S. Kay
- 8. Drake University School of Law: Chistopher Hanel
- 9. Emory University School of Law: Deepa Das Acevedo
- 10. Florida State University: David Landau (proxy)
- 11. Fordham University School of Law: Martin Gelter
- 12. George Mason University, Antonin Scalia Law School: Nuno Garupo
- 13. Georgetown University Law Center: Yvonne Tew
- 14. George Washington University: Francesca Bignami (proxy)
- 15. City University of Hong Kong: Virginia Harper Ho
- 16. Indiana University (Bloomington), School of Law: Hannah L. Buxbaum

- 17. Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México, Julio Rios Figueroa
- 18. University of Iowa College of Law: John C. Reitz
- 19. Louisiana State University, College of Law: Nick Davrados
- 20. McGill University, Institute of Comparative Law: Helge Dedek
- 21. University of Michigan School of Law: Mathias W. Reimann (proxy)
- 22. Mississippi college School of Law: Philip McIntosh
- 23. University of Missouri-Kansas: Rana Lehr-Lehnardt
- 24. University of Nevada Las Vegas: Marketa Trimble
- 25. New York University School of Law: Kevin Davis
- 26. Northeastern University School of Law: Margaret Woo
- 27. University of Oklahoma Law Center: Peter Kutner
- 28. University of the Pacific McGeorge: Granklin Gevurtz, Racheal Salcido
- 29. University of Pennsylvania Law School: Jacques deLisle
- 30. University of Pittsburgh School of Law: Vivian Grosswald Curran
- 31. Roger Williams University School of Law: Louise Teitz
- 32. St. Louis University school of Law: Ira Herenda Trako (proxy)
- 33. St. Mary's University School of Law: Steve Sheppard
- 34. National University of Singapore Faculty of Law: Gary Bell, Weitseng Chen
- 35. Texas A&M University School of Law: Irene Calboli
- 36. Università di Trento Facoltà di Giurisprudenza: Luisa Antoniolli
- 37. Tulane University School of Law: Ron Scalise, Sally Richardson, Mateusz Grochoski
- 38. University of Virginia School of Law: David Law
- 39. West Virginia University Department of Public Administration: Paolo Davide Farah
- 40. Willamette University College of Law: James A. R. Nafziger
- 41. University of Wisconsin: Jason Yackee

#### 2. Approval of Minutes of the 2023 Meeting of the Sponsor Members

Upon motion, duly seconded, the minutes from the 2023 annual meeting of the Sponsor Members were approved.

#### 3. President's Report

In lieu of the President's Report, President Máximo Langer welcomed all in attendance and acknowledged the broad representation in the Society of scholars from around the world. He also encouraged representatives of U.S. Sponsor Members to continue to participate actively, particularly through leadership in the Younger Comparativists Committee and through submissions to the *American Journal of Comparative Law*.

## 4. Election of New Sponsor Members and Individual Members

Upon motion duly seconded, a voice vote of the Sponsor Members was held and the following application for sponsor membership was approved:

University of the Republic of Uruguay Faculty of Law, represented (in absentia) by Dean Gonzalo A. Lorenzo Idiarte, and in person, by new delegate Prof. Carmen Gonzalez Pedrouzo.

Eleven (11) individual memberships registered since the 2023 annual meeting were also acknowledged.

Marighetto Andrea (affiliation unknown)

Monica Castillejos (affiliation unknown)

Marco Corradi (affiliation unknown)

Klaas Hendrik Eller (affiliation unknown)

Guillermo Hernandez, UNIME, Dominican Republic

Giulia Aravantinou Leonidi (affiliation unknown)

Hernan Perez Loose (affiliation unknown)

Adam Muchmore (Penn State)

Kyle Shen (Cleveland State University)

Nathalie Smuha (KU Leuven/NYU)

Guanchi Zhang (affiliation unknown)

#### 5. Resolution to Fix the Number and Names of Directors

It was moved, seconded and adopted to fix the number and names of directors as reflected in the current records of the Society.

#### 6. New Business

No new business was raised.

## 7. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved, seconded and approved that the Meeting of the Sponsor Members be adjourned at 11:00 a.m. Central Daylight Time.

Respectfully submitted,

Virginia Harper Ho

Secretary, American Society of Comparative Law, Inc.