American Society of Comparative Law

The American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. (ASCL) is the leading organization in the United States promoting the comparative study of law. Founded in 1951, it is a thriving organization of more than 100 institutional sponsor members, both in the United States and abroad, and a growing number of individual members. It is a member in good standing of the American Council of Learned Societies and International Association of Legal Science.

The Society publishes The American Journal of Comparative Law, the outstanding American publication of scholarship on comparative law. It holds annual meetings at which comparative law scholars present research and critically examine important legal issues from a comparative perspective. In addition, it provides support to other scholarly conferences both in the United States and internationally that deal with comparative law. Each year, the Society’s Yntema Prize recognizes exceptional publications on comparative law by younger scholars. The Society also promotes the exchange of information and opinion among students of comparative law through its website.

In more formal terms, The American Society of Comparative Law, Inc. (originally incorporated as the American Association for the Comparative Study of Law, Inc.), is an organization of institutional and individual members devoted to study, research, and write on foreign and comparative law as well as private international law. The ASCL’s purposes, as set forth in 1951 in its original certificate of incorporation, are “to promote the comparative study of law and the understanding of foreign legal systems; to establish, maintain and publish without a profit a comparative law journal; and to provide for research and the publication without profit of writings, books, papers and pamphlets relating to comparative, foreign or private international law.” A nonprofit corporation, the ASCL welcomes gifts for any of its purposes, including support of The American Journal of Comparative Law.

The American Society of Comparative Law is associated with the International Academy of Comparative Law and participates in the Academy’s quadrennial Congresses bringing together experts in comparative law from around the world. The Eighteenth Congress was held in Washington, D.C. in 2010 and the society played a key leadership role in its organization. Furthermore, the Society often cooperates with its counterparts in other countries, including participation in the upcoming XXth International IACL Congress in Fukuoka, Japan (July 22-28, 2018).

Welcome to the ASCL!


2018 Eder Prize – Call for Papers is OPEN

2018 Eder Prize – Call for Papers is OPEN

The 2018 Eder Prize Call for Papers is officially open.

The Younger Comparativists Committee of the American Society of Comparative Law (YCC) is pleased to invite submissions for the Phanor J. Eder LL.B./J.D. Prize in Comparative Law, in connection with its Seventh Annual Conference, to be held on April, 20-21 2018, at Case Western University in Cleveland, Ohio.  The Phanor J. Eder Prize is named in honor of the first president of the American Society of Comparative Law.

Subject Matter and Eligibility

The YCC will award the Phanor J. Eder Prize to the best comparative law paper submitted by an LL.B. or J.D. student; one or more honorable mentions will also be awarded.

Papers will be accepted on any subject in public or private comparative law from students currently enrolled in a J.D. or LL.B. program, who will not yet have received their degree as of April 1, 2018.

Submissions from graduate students enrolled in master’s or doctoral programs are not eligible for this prize but may participate in a separate competition. Information is available here:

Submission Instructions

To submit an entry, students should send an email to with the subject line:  “Submission for Phanor J. Eder Prize”. The email should state each author’s name and law school contact information, the title of the paper, and a certification that each author is an LL.B. or J.D. student satisfying the criteria set out above. The paper should be attached to this email in Microsoft Word or PDF format. Papers must be no more than 15,000 words (excluding footnotes). Submissions should reflect original research that will not yet have been published by the time of the conference, although it may have been accepted for publication.

The deadline for submission is January 28, 2018.

Scholars may make only one submission. Co-authored submissions will be accepted, provided that all authors satisfy the eligibility criteria and provide a certification to that effect.

Selection & Notification Process

The winning author(s) will be invited to present their paper at the YCC’s Annual Conference. The winner(s) will receive a modest stipend furnished by LexisNexis to help defray the costs of attendance. There is no registration fee, but winners will be responsible for securing their own funding for travel, lodging and other incidental expenses beyond the prize stipend. The author(s) of the winning submission and any honorable mention recipients will be notified as soon as possible, and no later than February 19, 2018.

Additional information is available here: 2018 Eder Prize Call for Papers.