Call for Nominations Richard M. Buxbaum Prize for Teaching in Comparative Law

May 31, 2019

The Younger Comparativists Committee (YCC) of the American Society of Comparative Law (ASCL) invites nominations, including self-nominations, for the annual Richard M. Buxbaum Prize for Teaching in Comparative Law. 

The YCC created the Buxbaum Prize in the summer of 2014 in honor of Professor Richard M. Buxbaum, the 2014 recipient of the ASCL Lifetime Achievement Award. Professor Buxbaum is the Jackson H. Ralston Professor of International Law (emeritus) at the University of California, Berkeley.

The Buxbaum Prize for Teaching in Comparative Law is awarded by the YCC in collaboration with the ASCL Prizes Committee in recognition of teaching excellence in any subject of comparative public or private law by an early stage scholar (who has been teaching Comparative Law for less than 10 years) in a tenure-track position at an ASCL Member Institution. 

The Buxbaum Prize will be awarded at the ASCL Annual Meeting, scheduled this year for October 17th-19th, 2019, at the University of Missouri College of Law. 


Nominations will be accepted by tenured professors currently teaching at an ASCL Member Institution. Self-nominations are accepted, but nominations or letters of support by colleagues who are experienced teachers will carry more weight. The Committee reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.

Nominations should be emailed by 12 pm EST on September 1st, 2019, to

Nominations should include the name, institutional affiliation, contact information, field of scholarly interest in comparative law, any relevant course syllabi and a supporting statement attesting to the nominee’s teaching excellence. They may also include teaching evaluations. 

Questions may be directed to Ioanna Tourkochoriti, YCC Chair, at

About the YCC

The YCC serves as a forum for younger comparative law scholars with ten years or fewer of faculty experience, creates opportunities for younger comparativists to develop and share their research, and facilitates and promotes the scholarly exchange of ideas and research in all areas of comparative law. It hosts an annual global conference in comparative law and advises the ASCL in its activities related to younger comparativists. More information on the YCC and the ASCL is available at

YCC Board

Antonia Baraggia (Vice Chair)

Vera Korzun

Kish Parella 

Valentia Rita Scotti

Ioanna Tourkochoriti (NUI, Galway) (Chair)

ASCL Prizes Committee

Jorge Esquirol

Julia Qin

John Reitz (chair)

Ron Scalise

More ASCL News